When alcoholic beverages are to be served at the event, renters must abide by all applicable laws of the State of Oregon. While we ALWAYS recommend doing your beverage service through a licensed and insured caterer, you may bring in your own alcohol (beer and wine ONLY, no hard alcohol) for an ADDITIONAL FEE and it must be served by a OLCC licensed bartender. You will also need to provide a "Certificate of Liability Insurance" naming 'The Loft at The Red Building' as additional insured if alcohol is being served and you are not using a licensed and insured caterer for your alcohol service. This policy is typically available through your homeowner's insurance policy as a one-day rider for bodily injury and property damage in the amount of $1,000,000. This certificate must show the date of the event and the name of the rental party. A copy of this certificate must be provided to The Loft no later than 14 days prior to your event.
Supplemental insurance is NOT required if you are using a licensed and insured caterer for your alcohol service.
If you choose the DIY bar option, your bar hours will be limited to no more than 6 hours maximum open time. (I.e. if your bar service begins at 4pm, your last call must be at 9:30pm with a firm bar closure of 10pm.)
In Oregon, private hosted bars featuring hard alcohol, beer and wine do not require any special licensing from OLCC. Private no-host (cash) bars may only feature beer and wine and do require a special day license. OLCC does not allow private no-host service of hard alcohol. Only OLCC licensed food and beverage establishments and caterers may sell hard alcohol.
If you are bringing in your own alcohol and are not using a licensed and insured caterer AND you have accepted payment or donations for entry to your event, you will also need to obtain a special event liquor license through the OLCC. More information can be found on their website.